

Conservation Act Concession

Members who operate in a conservation area are subject to the Conservation Act 1987. The Act states that an operator using a conservation area for gain or reward must have a concession. This includes parking in DOC carparks to let passengers alight for short walks in national parks and other conservation areas.

Members of the BCA can join the BCA's concession agreement with the Department of Conservation. This agreement enables bus and coach operators to obtain concession identification cards that permit vehicles to park, and pick-up and drop-off passengers on DOC land. The agreement does not allow members to provide guided services to passengers.

The concession agreement covers the majority of DOC administered land. However, some areas are excluded, and members should ensure the land they are operating in is covered under the concession agreement by contacting the BCA or checking the BCA website.

Types of concession

There are two types of concession card, standard and light.

A standard concession card allows parking access on DOC land for \$925 plus GST per card annually.

A light concession card allows for 15 days of use. If a member visits three separate DOC sites in one calendar day they will have used one of the 15 days rather than three. Light concession cards cost \$195 plus GST per card. The 15 days used are to be filled in on the back of the concession cards. This must be done prior to visiting DOC land and provided to DOC staff on request.

Issuing of cards and Fees

One concession payment entitles a member to one identification card. These cards are transferable between vehicles of the same operator only.

Fees must be paid annually in full to the BCA, in advance of the period being paid for. Standard concession cards run for one year from 1st July - 30th June.

Reporting

As part of the BCA-DOC concession agreement members must record their visits to the following locations:

Region	Specific Location
Coromandel Peninsula	Cathedral Cove Carpark
King Country	Totara Walk Carpark, Pureora Forest Park
Taupo	Huka Falls Carpark
Turangi	Lake Rotoponamu Carpark, Tongariro National Park
Taranaki	Dawson Falls Carpark, Egmont National Park
Taranaki	Stratford Plateau Carpark, Egmont National Park
Taranaki	North Egmont Carpark, Egmont National Park

Reports of visits should be provided to DOC annually prior to being issued the following year's concession card.

Marine Mammals

It is illegal to transport, convey, or guide people, for hire or reward, where a purpose to view or come into contact with any marine mammal (including seals), unless done so under a permit¹.

For example, a permit may be needed for transporting passengers to a beach for hire or reward, and one of the purposes of the transport is for passengers to view a seal colony.

This prohibition is under different legislation to the BCA-DOC concession, and a separate permit is needed. For more information on applying for a permit visit the DOC website or call them on +64 3 371 3700 or at permissionschristchurch@doc.govt.nz.

BCA DOC Concession

Excluded land for concession

All 4 wheel-drive only roads

Northland

Tangihua carpark – Omana Road Ruapekepeka car park Manginangina Walkway car park Rangikapiti Pa Summit Track Road 2 Cape Reinga Road car park (Te Paki recreation Reserve) Taputaputa Road and car park Pawakatutu Kawerau Road 2

Great Barrier Island

Akapoua Campground Access

Opotiki

Te Pona a Pita car park

Tongariro National Park

Mangatepopo Road (Tongariro Alpine Crossing Access) Ketetahi Road (Tongariro Alpine Crossing Access)

Marlborough

Molesworth Station Road

Aoraki/Mt Cook National Park

Ball Pass Road

Otago

Glen Nevis Conservation Area Quartz Reef Point Historic Reserve Flat Top Hill Conservation Area

Oteake Conservation Area

Mt Pisa car park (Pisa Conservation Area)

Roys Peak car park (Stack Conservation Area)

Motatapu Gorge Bridge car park (Motatapu Conservation Area)

Tim Burn and Pleasant Valley car parks (Dunstan Creek Marginal Strip)

Homestead Bay car park (West Wanaka Minaret)

Sandy Point Conservation Area

Craig Burn car park (Matatiaho Conservation Area)

Bottom Bay car park (Wanaka)

Dingleburn car park (Hawea Conservation Area)

Kidds Bush (Hawera Conservation Area)